Heart wants what it wants

8839889dd9dcd4560446b76eebb807d8

I used to run along and wave
At the fast moving trains 
Thinking that the people inside 
Would be waving back at me

I used to look up and shout
At the zooming airplanes 
Assuming that the people flying
Would see me from miles above 

I used to climb up the stairs 
And stare in awe; and blink
At the twinkling stars; thinking
They were winking at me 

After all these years
Now I know, I was only trying to believe 
What my heart wanted to believe 
Notwithstanding the actual truth

And yet, I still look at her all day
Admiring her moonshine eyes, 
Her beautiful bright smile
Her hair silky, as long as the Nile

After all, 
The heart wants what it wants. 

Leave a Reply

