Dear Love

Dear love do you reckon
I’m still alive and empty
Expecting you to fill me up
Hollow on the inside
Masked on the outside

For the desert that I have become
Arid and tearless in the day
Cold and numb in the night
Expecting you to be the light
That will evaporate my pain

Dear love do you feel the love
That is oozing out of me
Expecting you to reciprocate it
Expecting you to feel the way I do
Do you?

Maybe we were never meant to be ‘Us’
Maybe we were never meant to be one
I might be sad about it today
But one day my Dear, I’m sure
That I will learn to trade acceptance for expectations

Penned down by Pranav Hegde

Leave a Reply

